October 04, 2006

Leeroy Stagger

Canada now has it's own Ryan Adams, his name is Leeroy Stagger. If Adams had kept toeing the line he drew with his acclaimed outfit, Whiskeytown, and swallowed enough hard times to grow a Steve Earle throat, well, hell, then Stagger would be American, but he's not... he's ours. But better yet, his latest and third full-length, Depression River, is everyone's.

Stagger delivers his songs in an incredibly familiar voice, ragged and warm it masks his youth (24) and yet it doesn't hide his sincerity. Although he does stir echoes of Earle, he recalls Wilco's Jeff Tweedy on the mid-tempo nugget, "Wish You Were The Trees". What stands out most of all is Stagger's ability to pen songs that seem like old friends. The album was released in Canada, October 3rd, but it won't be released stateside until February 2007. So, spread the word that rootsy alt-country has a new 'it' boy and you'll be able to say say you were a fan all along... when he's sitting up there with Letterman.

From Leeroy Stagger and The Sinking Hearts - Depression River
+ depression river
+ payback

Depression River [Boompa] track list
01. Where I Live
02. Depression River
03. Wish You Were The Trees
04. Payback
05. Jealous and Drunk
06. Best Mistake
07. Saskatoon
08. One Of the Lucky Ones
09. Carol
10. Lay Down Your Guns
11. Satellite
12. Tired of Being High
13. Jesus and the Liquor

Leeroy Stagger(guitar, lead vocals)

Jon Gant (drums)
Daniel Weisenberger (guitar, backing vocals)
Leigh Greiswood (bass, backing vocals)

BUY Depression River.

From Tales From The Back Porch [april 2006]
+ i break hearts

From Beautiful House [2005]
+ beautiful house
just in case

From Dear Love [2004]
+ slowly sinking


  1. hey alan...great new design! i've been reading through an rss reader, so i didn't even know. anyway, nice work!

  2. Hey dodge, thanks! it's good to know some people noticed the change!