November 02, 2005

Sun Kil Moon Release Modest Mouse Covers Album

Mark Kozelek (Sun Kil Moon, Red House Painters) has released the first recording on his own label, Caldo Verde... and it's his very own 11 track re-working of Modest Mouse songs titled Tiny Cities.

Here is the press release for the record:


"Sun Kil Moon, the latest project by Red House Painters' Mark Kozelek, will release a new album on November 1st on Kozelek's own Caldo Verde Records in the U.S. and on Rough Trade Records for the rest of the world. The album, Tiny Cities, finds Kozelek covering 11 songs by Modest Mouse. As anyone who has followed Mark's career would expect, the songs are vastly reworked, and offer listeners a new look at the unorthodox songwriting of Isaac Brock.

Recorded at Hyde Street Studios in San Francisco in early 2005, Tiny Cities is the second Sun Kil Moon release. The 2003 debut Ghosts of the Great Highway was one of Kozelek's greatest commercial and critical successes, lauded by Rolling Stone as "elegant beauty." For Tiny Cities, Sun Kil Moon reunites for more of the slow, gorgeous musicianship fans have come to expect.

Mark Kozelek first began performing Modest Mouse songs after seeing a show at the Fillmore Auditorium in 2003. Intrigued with Brock's lyrics and vocal delivery, Kozelek first added a few of Brock's songs to his live sets, and then, eventually took them to the studio for what became this full-length recording.

Not new to the world of covers, Kozelek has reinterpreted, recorded and performed materials by a diverse array of artists including AC/DC, Kiss, John Denver, Simon & Garfunkel and more. In addition to this new recording, Kozelek recently recorded Neil Diamond's "Kentucky Woman" for the Songs from the Brown Hotel charity compilation EP, organized by Cameron Crowe to coincide with his new film Elizabethtown. Kozelek also appears in the upcoming Steve Martin produced Shopgirl. In September, he joins Alan Sparhawk's Retribution Gospel Choir as guest guitarist for several U.S. tour dates."

Tiny Cities Tracklist:

01. Exit Does Not Exist
02. Tiny Cities Made Of Ashes
03. Neverending Math Equation
04. Space Travel Is Boring
05. Dramamine
06. Jesus Christ Was An Only Child
07. Four Fingered Fisherman
08. Grey Ice Water
09. Convenient Parking
10. Trucker's Atlas
11. Ocean Breathes Salty


You can find this new album at eMusic (although don't be mislead, as eMusic has, for the moment, got the album erroneously titled, Twin Cities), along with more Mark Kozelek recordings, with Sun Kil Moon, Red House Painters, and solo work. If you aren't already a member of eMusic, you can get 50 free mp3 downloads when you sign up for their 'no obligations' trial.... go here.

1 comment:

  1. woah, looking forward to this one. Gotta love MK. Here's an interview with him if you're interested.