September 12, 2007

DCFC's Gibbard Contributes to Cobain Documentary

Death Cab for Cutie's main man, Ben Gibbard, has contributed new music to the rock doc of Kurt Cobain's conversations with journalist and friend, Michael Azerrad, titled Kurt Cobain: About A Son. That film's soundtrack was released yesterday on Barsuk and on it Gibbard's covers "Indian Summer" by K Records band Beat Happening.

The About A Son soundtrack also features previously released tracks from Mudhoney, the Melvins, Mark Lanegan, and more, as well as Cobain faves like Iggy Pop, Half Japanese, David Bowie, R.E.M., and Leadbelly.

You can listen to a 30 sec clip of Gibbard's version below and here's some more Gibbard for you (from 2003's Home: Volume 5) along with the original song by Beat Happening.

beat happening
indian summer [mp3]

ben gibbard - from Home: Volume 5
carolina [mp3]
you remind me of home [mp3]

FIND MORE Ben Gibbard MP3s

Kurt Cobain: About A Son - Sept. 11 Barsuk - BUY
01 "Overture" - Steve Fisk and Ben Gibbard
02 Audio: Never Intended
03 "Motorcycle Song" - Arlo Guthrie
04 "Eye Flys" - The Melvins
05 Audio: Punk Rock
06 "Banned in DC" - Bad Brains
07 "Up Around the Bend" - Creedence Clearwater Revival
08 "Put Some Sugar on It" - Half Japanese
09 "Son of a Gun" - The Vaselines
10 "Graveyard" - Butthole Surfers
11 Audio: Hardcore Was Dead
12 "Owner's Lament" - Scratch Acid
13 "Touch Me I'm Sick" - Mudhoney
14 "Audio: Car Radio"
15 "The Passenger" - Iggy Pop
16 "The Borgeois Blues" - Leadbelly
17 "New Orleans Instrumental No. 1" - R.E.M.
18 "Audio: The Limelight"
19 "The Man Who Sold the World" - David Bowie
20 "Museum" - Mark Lanegan
21 "Indian Summer" - Ben Gibbard (30 second clip - Windows)

* * * * *

Well, now that you're here, why not subscribe to sixeyes feed. It's easy ( Or, if you're already a subscriber why not link sixeyes on your own blog/homepage... the more the merrier.

Thanks for visiting and come back sometime.

No comments:

Post a Comment